“Big whirls have little whirls,
That feed on their velocity;
And little whirls have lesser whirls,
And so on to viscosity.”
~ Lewis Fry Richardson

Pedernales Falls State Park – my favorite local hiking spot!

Some days are magical and this was one such day hike. With the recent rain I knew the Pedernales River at Pedernales Falls State Park would be high but just how high I was not not sure. If it was too high I would not be able to hike into this area for this picture. Too low and the falls would not be be flowing enough for a good image. This has been the case for the last few years – never catching the river at good point to get this image. But this day was damn near perfect. I had to jump across a few shallow, thin river flows across rocks to get to this point. If the river was just one foot higher I probably could not have gotten out here to get this shot. If you want waterfall shots in central Texas this is has to be one of the top spots.

Shot with a Lee Seven5 filter system on the OM-D E-M5.

Leave a comment